Cookie Warning

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. See our Cookie Policy page for more details

I am happy with this

Code for Sustainable Homes

On 13 December 2006, the Code for Sustainable Homes – a new national standard for sustainable design and construction of new homes was launched.

By integrating elements of this voluntary Code into new homes and obtaining assessments against the Code, developers will be able to obtain a ‘star rating’ for any new home which will demonstrate its environmental performance. It will provide valuable information to home buyers, and offer builders a tool with which to differentiate themselves in sustainability terms.

Our homes account for around 27% of the UK’s carbon emissions, a major cause of climate change. The Department for Communities and Local Government laid the foundations for greener housing when it launched the Code for Sustainable Homes. Since May 2008 all new homes are required to have a Code rating against the Code and for a Code certificate to be included within the Home Information Pack (HIP).

What is a Code Home?

Code homes are built to the standards set in the Code for Sustainable Homes (the Code). They are more energy and water efficient,produce fewer carbon emissions and are better for the environment. Code homes also encourage their owners to live a more sustainable lifestyle and are built in a more efficient way, using materials from sustainable sources. This creates less waste and also means Code homes have lower running costs.There are nine categories in the Code covering energy, water, the materials used in the home through to health and wellbeing and pollution with points assigned to each category.When a builder chooses to incorporate a specific feature they are awarded points, which when added together, form the basis of a hotel-style star rating system.

The code has been set at six levels one star to six stars, and split in to various categories, the category that covers lighting is energy Co2 . Before you study how to comply you should understand what type of lighting complies, this is laid out in Part L1A (link).

Level one is the basic level for new build or a 10% overall improvement on the level set in building regulations part L 2006. Level six is a zero carbon home. To reach level six within the energy Co2 category you will have to amount a points tally of 17.6.

What are the regulations and points system for the internal lighting category?

Internal Lighting where the following percentage of fixed fittings are dedicated low energy light fittings (see Part L1a)

40% of fixtures that meet this requirement are fitted 1.2 points will be awarded.


75% of fixtures that meet this requirement are fitted 2.4 points will be awarded.

What are the regulations and points system for the external lighting category?

External lighting where all space lighting is provided by dedicated energy efficient fittings, taking into account the needs of people who have visual impairments will be awarded 1.2 points.

Optionally for security lighting with a maximum of 150 watts, fitted with movement detecting and daylight shut-off devices. Where all other security lighting is provided with energy efficient fittings and daylight shut-off devices will be awarded 2.4 points.

When calculating the cost of scoring points lighting will repay your investment and continue to do so for many years to come, with energy bills set to double over the next 5 years fitting dedicated low energy lighting will help you sustain expenditure on energy costs while reducing your Co2 emissions.

The Code document, RIA and consultation analysis and other supporting documents are available via the Berr Website

For more information

For more inormation about our projects:


Social Housing Project 1

Code Homes Logo